I remember…

Standard

9.11.01

I remember that day

I remember where I lived….In Gallatin, TN in a blue house on Bayview Dr

I remember what I was doing that morning….I was getting ready for work, brushing my teeth

I remember what I was wearing….khaki pants and white shirt…that was my uniform for the Origins counter at Dillards in Goodlettsville, TN

I remember S yelling at me to come see the TV. I thought that maybe a plane was going down and was crashing into the towers, never did I think we were under attack, but we were.

I remember how I felt….a sinking feeling…a sick feeling…sadness…scared…what was going to happen next.

I remember being at work….hardly anyone was there. A few customers…we were closing early that day. I remember a customer being upset that we were closing early. Why should the world stop just because planes crashed she said. I remember looking at her and just turning away. I couldn’t even speak to her after that.

I remember going home watching the tv all day and night

I remember it was the first time I had ever watched the president speak and actually pay attention to what he was saying.

I remember S telling me a few weeks later that he wanted to go back into the Marine Corps. He wanted to protect our country again.

I will always remember that day.

My prayers to the families who lost their loved ones.

My prayers to the families who lost their loved ones fighting to keep us safe.

Leave a Reply

